Thread: Building my first acoustic

Building my first acoustic

I've been playing guitar for a few years now and have been an avid woodworker for a long time. So naturally I want to take a shot at building my own acoustic guitar. I'm curious to hear about other people's first guitar build and how it turned out. One of the things that has concerned me, which is silly, is that I know I will put in a ton of effort and may very well get an instrument that sounds awful or is difficult to play. Of course this will not stop me from building an acoustic... I can only get better by practicing.

What have your experiences been? Were you pleased with the outcome? Disappointed?

Building a good acoustic guitar is not magical, it simply requires a good plan (readily available) and solid woodworking chops and proper materials. I don't know what "avid woodworker" means to you but you need to be quite good and have hand tool chops, serious chops. If you have the above you can make a guitar that sounds great. Oh yeah, the process has to be as important to you as the product. If it is you can't lose.

"So, do you feel lucky punk?" Okay this is a good start but let's back up a moment. If you really want to build a great acoustic, I'd suggest that you build a great electric guitar first. Perfect prior practice perfects performance and all of that...

You can make a killer acoustic. Stick to the classic materials and conventional builds and finishes.

Do it!

When I was 13,I started to build guitars up in Alaska. There was no one to show me how to bend sides. There were no books.You could not even buy frets and tuners or pickups as there were no suppliers. This was in 1954.