Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Router Plane

Router Plane

I'm in the market for one. I've avoided it long enough. Is there a significant advantage of a LV or LN over an older Stanley 71 or 71 1/2?
    Harmony is the strength and support of all institutions, especially this of ours.

Blog Entries
    I have a LN, but given the choice a second time I would chose the LV, it's a better design. I have no experience with the older Stanley's.
    Bumbling forward into the unknown.

Shannon, I've had (and sold off) vintage Stanley 71s and 71 1/2s. They work well but are often incomplete. Parts can be tricky to find. I also have a couple of hags tooth wooden routers (one shop made, one vintage commercial) and they work well. But my go-to for most work is my LN. I also have the LN 271 and the LV mini-router, which both see work as well. If I had to choose one, it would be the LN... even if it does hurt my soul to admit that something new is better than something vintage
    Your endgrain is like your bellybutton. Yes, I know you have it. No, I don't want to see it.

Quote Originally Posted by Shannon Brantley View Post
    I'm in the market for one. I've avoided it long enough. Is there a significant advantage of a LV or LN over an older Stanley 71 or 71 1/2?
    I have a 71, and it works just fine. The big advantage to the new models is their better depth stop mechanisims. The LV and LN have depth stop collars that go around the blade shank. The depth stop on the 71 is pretty much useless (to me), it's a separate rod that would bottom out in the groove. The other problem with old is that many only will come with one blade, and getting the others can be a challenge (although the LV blades are said to fit). If you have the money to spend, the LV looks the best to me, but on a budget, and old 71 is fard to beat.

Blog Entries
    My router plane is the Sargent equivalent of the Stanley 71. It is able to use the router plane blades from Lee Valley.