Thread: Dust Collection OR ?

Dust Collection OR ?

I am contemplating the purchase of a dust collector for my shop. I am just a hobbyist woodworker (i.e. woodworking is not my real job) and am still in the process of aquiring a full set of shop tools (aren't we all?). I currently have a table saw, router and router table, drill press as my "major" tools and will soon be buying a planer and jointer.

I am wondering how many of you have dust collection systems in your shops versus just sweeping up on a regular basis? My shop area is a single garage stall, approx 11 by 21 and I am tired of sweeping up the rest of my garage (another 2 stalls) every time I work.

Instead of a DC, would I be better off rigging up a roll of plastic sheeting that I could lower when I need to in order to contain the dust? I usually use a dust mask. Any feedback of a non-critical nature is appreciated.

Grand Marais, MN. A transplant from Minneapolis
    Scott.

DC is so very important from a safety stand point. There is well documented data on the effects of micro sized wood fibers that can cause all kinds problems with the respiratory system. Even contact with the skin can irritate individuals sensitive to the oils & resins.
    All these goodies migrate throughout the house too if the shop is inside or next to it.
    I'd put DC on the short list of must have items.
    Last edited by Tyler Howell; 07-05-2005 at 3:11 PM.
    TJH
    Live Like You Mean It.

http://www.northhouse.org/

The jointer and planer produce serious amounts of chips. You'll be glad to have a DC when you get them ... regardless of safety/health.

Jay
    Jay St. Peter

markus shaffer Guest
    Scott,