Thread: Can engrave but not pulse the laser

Can engrave but not pulse the laser

I am new to this hobby and purchased a used Sh-g350 laser enngraver. The mirrors need alignment but the laser button on the control panel does not fire the laser. I get the beep when the button is pressed, and I see a brief flash in the laser tube, but no laser output. If i start a cut or engrave job, however, the laser works, it's just out of alignment. I can't really align it without having the pulse. Has anyone here seen this issue or have suggestions?
    Thanks

Shawn

Welcome to SMC. If you have checked out this thread I suggest you do so as it may answer questions for you.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...-tricks-thread
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Shawn,
    When you run the program for the engraving it sets the power but from the panel you need to set it manually, mine needs to be at least 12% to fire the laser, this is typical.

Of course that may not be youe problem but it's easy to check.

Ken
    ExLas 130 Watt Reci
    1400mm x 1000mm

Another thing to check is the duration that the laser is set to fire. On mine a setting of "0" means that it fires for as long as you hold the button. If it was set too low the "on" time may be too little for it to do anything. I usually use 100 which is 100 milliseconds, which is 1/10 of a second.
    Shenhui 1440x850, 130 Watt Reci Z6
    Gerber Sabre 408