Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please help me move into Festool

Please help me move into Festool

Dear Creekers,

Please help me spend my money.
    I have a rather unique set of needs, and I'm thinking of going festool (or festool-like).
    • Safety is important: I absolutely can't afford to injure my hands. I'm a dentist.
    • Dust control is important: I'm in an apartment in SF, but can work on the veranda.
    • Portability is important: if my landlord decides to sell, I'd like to fit things in my Corolla.
    • Money is tight: While I'm a dentist, most of my money goes to continued education or necessary expenses (insurance, license, etc). I also spend a significant time serving the under served/under-insured through the county--my paycheck is definitely not big.
    • I mainly build guitars, smaller things, but I'd like to make a built in closet for my mom and my sister.

Currently, I'm compiling a list of tools to save up and buy.
    Could you recommend a set of tools?

My current tool set:
    • Ryobi coded hand drill. Eggbeater drill. Ryobi drill bits, reamer. Yankee brace 2100
    • Japanese hand saws. Greenlee hacksaw
    • Japanese chisels (full set)
    • Japanese hand planes, Veritas Low angle jack, Veritas #3 smoother.
    • Milled Straight edges. Starret square. Mitotoyo Calipers. Kebiki.
    • Three normal cam clamps; 6 small "luthier's" cam clamps
    • A bunch of NOS Nicholsen files
    • Some crappy screwdrivers. A cheap happer. A glen-drake Tite hammer #4.
    • Bosch Colt. Dremel. Milwakee router 1.5 router. Fein vacuum.
    • Blum workbench. holdfasts. benchdogs. homemade bench puppies
    • Rockwell bandsaw. Bosch jigsaw

Interim/transitional tools (next 2 years):
    • Makita tracksaw (instead of ts55)
    • pocket hole jig
    • Sound baffle cabinet for Fein vac (better hose storage, sound dampening, can stack stuff on top)

Future tool set:
    • Festool CT26
    • Bosch cordless drill/driver DDS181 (instead of t18)