Thread: Whiskey barrel display case

Whiskey barrel display case

Have any of you ever built anything from a whiskey barrel, other than planters? A client wants me to split a barrel length wise and turn it into a cabinet/display case. I've never worked with a barrel before, any pitfalls I need to watch for? Any tips or techniques from those with experience would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.
    Brad McCollum
    Mac Woodworks

I don't think you could split it lengthwise - the only thing holding those staves in place is the hoops and friction, each stave pressing against both it's neighbors. When you take away half the staves they won't have anything to press against and would fall apart like a house of cards.
    ~Garth

A true whiskey barrel is held together with metal rings so you will have to plan on how to keep the barrel together once it is split. You could replicate the rings with wood that is bent to hold the half barrels together. I personally would like to know where they got the barrels. I live in Ky and it's hard to buy used barrels, at least at a reasonable price. good luck with the project and keep us updated.

Quote Originally Posted by Scott Brandstetter View Post
    A true whiskey barrel is held together with metal rings so you will have to plan on how to keep the barrel together once it is split. You could replicate the rings with wood that is bent to hold the half barrels together. I personally would like to know where they got the barrels. I live in Ky and it's hard to buy used barrels, at least at a reasonable price. good luck with the project and keep us updated.
    I thought KY would be one of the better bourbon/whiskey states where you could get your barrels. There's untold numbers of the barrels in the Finger Lakes region of NY wineries.