Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cutting Miters

Cutting Miters

Hello,

I am fairly new to woodworking, but have a few questions about cutting miters. Is there an easy way to calculate how to cut a miter? I have struggled numerous times, and trying to figure out a simple method. Any thoughts would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks,

Gary
    Last edited by Chris Padilla; 09-22-2014 at 1:56 PM.

I don't understand the question. Are you trying to select a tool for the job? Are you trying to establish a cutting method? Are you wondering how to calculate the angle of a closed shape with an arbitrary number of sides? Please explain a little more.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary Petit View Post
    Hello,

I am fairly new to woodworking, but have a few questions about cutting miters. Is there an easy way to calculate how to cut a miter? I have struggled numerous times, and trying to figure out a simple method. Any thoughts would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks,

Gary
    I'll take a stab at this. Like people, some miters are cuter than others. Hey OH! I'll be here all week.

If you are talking about bisecting an angle to get the perfect miter cut for both pieces, it is a very simple process.

Easy Peasy

If you don't have a compass and bevel square, you need one.
    Last edited by Chris Padilla; 09-22-2014 at 1:56 PM.

Is the problem when making more than four corners?

The total number of degrees enclosed by a regular polygon is 180(n-2)
    where n is the total number of sides.

Take that number, divide it by the number of vertices.
    Divide that result by 2 to get the setting for each half of a miter.

This applies to "regular" polygons, if my High school geometry still serves.

For example:

To make the miters on hexagon, like a stop sign.

180(6-2) = 720 degrees enclosed
    720/6 = 120

Set your miters for 60 degrees between each piece.

I suppose you could do the same with irregular shapes,
    but you would need to divide the sections into simpler