Thread: Mid Century Walnut Table Refinish Needed

Blog Entries

Mid Century Walnut Table Refinish Needed

My friends have mid-century Scandinavian walnut tables, two lamp tables and a coffee table. The tables are gorgeous.

The finish on all of the tables is sticky to the touch. I suppose they have 50 years of polish and whatever on them. The tables look good, no scratches or dings. The joints are all sound as well.

They have ask me to refinish them. I am not a "refinisher", I have no experience. I have no intention of charging them for the work if I do it.

I need to know how to strip 50 years of grunge from the pieces and then what to do to the finish. I wonder if scraping with a card scraper would work. I might try a small area in an inconspicuous place. Any help will be appreciated.

What product should be used after stripping the grunge off?
    Last edited by lowell holmes; 09-30-2014 at 9:56 AM.

Can you post some pictures of the items? Are they solid wood or are they a veneered substrate?

To answer one question, you probably don't want to sand or scrape off the existing finish. If staining is necessary, sanding or scraping will not wholly remove the existing finish.
    Howie.........

If they are sticky, then it's possible it may just be built up oil (from a variety of sources) that needs to be removed.

Do the tables LOOK good? Before throwing the baby out with the bathwater, I would try wiping an inconspicuous part with mineral spirits. Wipe it then with a clean rag until dry. Let it air dry after that for another 15-20 minutes and feel for any residual tack. If you can get away with a good cleaning this way, it may be the cheap way out.

I agree with the above...antiques very often just need proper cleaning and one must be very careful with what gets used so that there is "cleaning without dissolving the original finish".
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Blog Entries