View Poll Results: What size dovetail jig should I buy?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • 12"

4 14.81%
  • 16"

5 18.52%
  • 24"

16 59.26%
  • Other

2 7.41%

Thread: Dovetail Jig - 12 vs 16 vs 24

Dovetail Jig - 12 vs 16 vs 24

i am looking for a dovetail jig - perhaps off CL since I am only an advanced beginner and have not messed with dovetails. Perhaps a porter cable or leigh or akeda. But my question is what do I really need size wise - I just cannot see why I would need a 24" dovetail but maybe a box joint? What size do I really need to cover the majority of things - I have a small 12x20 denicated shop so I try to buy only what I need since storage space is at a premium.

Blog Entries
    Hi Ken,

I have a Leigh D4, which is a 24" jig. My jig is mostly used for drawer boxes.

I would recommend a Leigh jig mainly for the adjustable spacing feature.

I agree with you that in lots of applications the capacity of a 24" jig isn't needed but there are a lot of 24" jigs out there. The Leigh D4 and D4R for examples.

If you have the time you can find them used here on the creek on occasion.

Good luck with it.

PHM

Blog Entries
    I started out with a cheap Woodstock 12" jig which worked fine until I needed to build a second 16" tall toy box and didn't want to splice a top and bottom again so I went with a Leigh D1600 with a 16" capacity. Also used it to do a 16" deep trash drawer in my kitchen. Can't imagine ever needing a 24" capacity (knock on wood).
    NOW you tell me...