Thread: Kitchen Cabinet Refinishing

Kitchen Cabinet Refinishing

Hi All,

My Kitchen cabinets need a facelift. They are only about 10 years old and look to have been finished with regular lacquer. Probably sprayed 'in place' since the coverage on hard to reach areas is a bit spotty. Not sure if some sort of coloring was used. It looks like it was not a penetrating stain, but instead a toner?

The finish has disappeared in some places, particularly those spots where moisture is present. Here are some pictures of the worst areas:
    photo 1.jpgphoto 4.jpgphoto 3.jpg
    I'd like to re-finish these with the least effort possible, potentially with something a little bit more durable / moisture resistant. I would prefer to use waterborne. I own a Fuji Q4 system with all the fixings and am not new to spray finishing. However, I am new to re-finishing and not sure how to tackle this project.

Is a decent result still possible with this level of finish degradation or should I be looking into other alternatives, e.g. paint.

That's a strip and refinished job there. And a new door too, from what I can tell.

Todd

The finish is certainly degraded but the wood underneath still looks pretty good to me. The finish looks like clear lacquer to me, I don't see any color to it other than normal aging maybe, and no stain underneath. That should make it "easy" to strip with a chemical stripper. I really like KleanStrip Premium but any stripper with methylene chloride in it should take it off about as fast as you can brush it on. That said, be prepared for some work because of all the doors drawer fronts there are to do. If that isn't appealing, then take them to a pro stripper and have them strip those parts, leaving just the cabinet frames for you to do. When you do the cabinet frames you will have to take great care not to get the stripper on anything you don't want it on, and be sure to wear the appropriate safety equipment and provide adequate ventilation.