Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: colored finish for cabinets?

colored finish for cabinets?

I am just learning how to spray paint with a compressor and HVLP gun, and suddenly realize I will have difficulty getting the finish in the color I want.

I had planned on using General Finishes Poly. However, it seems I can't really get that professionally tinted. I want to have a very large variety of colors to choose from, such as when you go to a Sherman Williams store. I haven't found any seller that provides a finish with this choice. Of course, I can tint my own finish, but that would be very complicated and I would never be able to match one batch of finish to the next.

(I did dump some black tint into a quart of Enduro Poly, and it came out very black.)

As good as General Finish might be, I don't think I want to use it. For me, the difference between a bad match of the color I want, and the color I really want, is the difference between mediocrity and perfection, no matter how glass-like the finish.

I don't think I can get targetcoatings professionally tinted, either.

My choice now are the Sherman Williams aqua kem lacquer a product Sherman Williams should be able to tint, or just plain Sherman Williams water based acrylic, which I can try to spray on. I'm not sure I can get the aqua kem.

I may be using a paint brush after setting up my paint booth and making a paint stand.

By the way, I am painting MDF pieces in the modern style. For example, I will make a dining room buffet.

You should be able to get Kem Aqua at your Sherwin-Williams store. I live in a town of about 50,000 and it's available here.

Sherwin Williams will color match most all of their products. Including the lacquers and stains. It may have to come from a regional store, as opposed to a local if yours is a small store. Usually within a weeks cycle on their truck(they run every store weekly)