Thread: Worth modifying old Craftsman Router table?

Worth modifying old Craftsman Router table?

I bought this old craftsman Router table with a router on Craigslist and foolishly didn't test it

9cff8702e149d69625f9c1fb09dc014f1.jpg

The router doesn't work ugh... So I got another router. Of course, my PC router doesn't fit the table. I want to build my own router table. Is it worth salvaging this table and drilling new holes? It's metal if there's any advantage to that. Or am I better off making my own top opening up more customization? I've never used a router table before so really have no guess which direction to go. Thanks for any insight.

In a word - no.

Table on the small-end of usable size, and is more flimsy than whatever you would build. Your fence will likely be a big improvement as well.
    When I started woodworking, I didn't know squat. I have progressed in 30 years - now I do know squat.

Blog Entries
    Dad and I wasted enough time trying to make one of those usable as it took to build a decent one. I'd walk away. Although I have built tables before, I have come to the decision that for me, the most effective way to get what you want in a router table is as follows:

- think about dust collection, think about dust collection, think about dust collection, think about dust collection.
    - choose the lift you will use (or choose the form factor of the lift you lust after and use an identical plate).
    - design and build your cabinet to meet your needs and accept (and most importantly, support) the top design that you want.
    - build or buy the top leaving overhang on either side for clamping various things as comes in the course of using a router table.
    - build or buy a split fence with adequate depth to handle large bits (my current fence handles this by adding thicker faces to create more depth).

Route your brains out ;-)
    Last edited by glenn bradley; 10-25-2014 at 12:18 PM. Reason: punct.