Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: maximum weight

maximum weight

Does anyone know how much weight I can mount on my 3520B? I contacted powermatic and they said if it can be mounted , it's not too heavy. This doesn't sound right to me.I'm not an engineer but I thought the main shaft or the bearings could be scored if you hang too much weight. The piece I want to turn weighs 90 pounds ;32 inch diameter. Has anyone hung this much weight on their lathe?

Thanx

I have never hung that much on mine, but I am sure others have. For safety, be sure to engage1 the tailstock a

it can handle more than you probably want to lift on to it.

I forgot to mention that I can't use the tailstock;I'm turning outboard.

I would hope that 90 pounds would not be too much. I bought the extension with the intention of turning pieces over 20" in diameter using the extension in the lower position. I expect that the blanks will weigh that much in the rough. Since PM's extension doesn't offer any tailstock support option, it would be of limited use if the 3520 couldn't handle that weight. (I have been in a wood supply and turning drought for the last year, so I haven't had a chance to use it yet.)

I don't have a 3520B, but I suspect that the bearings are much stronger than you are assuming. The first bearing I looked at on the VXB web site (25x47x12) has a static load rating of 1315 pounds and a dynamic rating of 2270 pounds. It costs $4.37. The 3520B might even use larger bearings than my guess.

Steve

Nick Cook turned a huge log down for an table pedestal years ago. The chunk weighed some where around 800 pounds I believe. He had to turn it between two PM's held together with bar clamps. If someone has the link to the video it is neat to watch. To answer you question any quality full size lathe should handle 100 pounds or more with no problems. Just start off at slow speeds and work the speed up as it becomes more balanced.

Jack