Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Random observations on saw sharpening(M

Random observations on saw sharpening(M

I've been slowly working on my saw sharpening skills for quite a while now. I'm still no expert, but I've advanced from my first truly disastrous efforts to a point of what I would call minimal competence (which, BTW, was the standard for passing the bar exam when I took it, but that's another conversation!). The problem for people like me -- just a hobbyist -- is the lack of an opportunity to work with experienced craftsmen who can show me what I'm doing wrong. I get great advice from George Wilson, Jim Koepke, and others on this site, but it's a far cry from, say, working as George's apprentice. I just finished sharpening a saw this afternoon, and I thought I'd post a few tips that people have given me on this board and a few things I've figured out for myself that might be useful to other novices like me.

1. This is one came from someone on this board, but I don't recall gave it to me. Make sure you have excellent lighting. I'd bet in past years, saw sharpening stations were set up next to outside windows or even outdoors in order to get good light. I bought a couple of cheap desk la mps with flexble goose necks and mounted them above and just behind the top of my vice (which, BTW, is wall mounted). Makes all the difference in the world when you're trying to see the flat spots on top of the jointed teeth.
    2. Similarly -- good magnfication helps, especially if, like me, you're old enough that your eyes don't do well with close work. I got one of those magnfiers mounted to a head strap that I use all the time. You can spend a fair amount of money on them, but mine's the cheapest one I could find, and it works just fine. It has a monocle that swings down for extra magnification when you need it.