Thread: smoothing a spoon bowl

smoothing a spoon bowl

I'm new to spoon carving. Great pleasure doing my first in pine. Second in cherry is coming along well. I like the spokeshave facets on the outside of the bowl and on the handle but not so much those inside the bowl. I use a 25 mm #5, 16 mm #5, and 8 mm #7 for the inside of the bowl. It has a fair curve to its depth of ~20mm, but is not truly smooth. I've tried the gooseneck scraper and think I could do better with it as I improve my preparation and technique. Small riffler files have helped. I have a Mora #164 hook knife on order. I'd like to stay with hand tools and avoid sandpaper if I can. Have you other suggestions? Thanks.

I'd say - um - hone your scraper technique. I find it the easiest (next sandpaper) for getting smooth and ridgeless in tight spaces.

You won't nessecarily get a perfectly regular surface with the hooked knife, but if its sharp and you carefully pay attention to the grain and take really light finish cuts it can certainly be nearly glass smooth. I haven't managed to improve substantially on that with scraping (except to remove some remaining "ripples" but I'm starting to decide that they aren't really a problem).

I don't use a Mora knife. They usually need to be profiled before use. I use hook knives from Pinewood forge. I have three different spoon knives from them, I find I use the #2 open sweep the most. The hook isn't as big, giving a smother spoon. No need to sand.

http://www.pinewoodforge.com/catalog.html

Quote Originally Posted by Paul Sidener View Post
    I don't use a Mora knife. They usually need to be profiled before use. I use hook knives from Pinewood forge. I have three different spoon knives from them, I find I use the #2 open sweep the most. The hook isn't as big, giving a smother spoon. No need to sand.

http://www.pinewoodforge.com/catalog.html