Thread: Looking to cut a wedge-shape from a block of wood

Looking to cut a wedge-shape from a block of wood

Hey all! Long-time lurker, but finally created an account!

I came across these arcade control sticks on the internet:

http://i.imgur.com/rYCd2ob.png
    http://i.imgur.com/mV5qrrS.png
    http://i.imgur.com/X2Qvuq4.png

The website claims that it's "Hand Crafted from solid hardwood", but I'm not sure if that means that it's carved out of a single block or is made from solid boards fastened together.

I want to custom-build one for a friend, and for my purposes, I want to try to cut one from a solid block, if possible.

I'm having trouble figuring out how to cut the slanted parts and bevels. I have access to a few power tools; RAS, table saw, tiny band saw, cheap small planer, a router, a small 40x60cm CNC router, and a bit more. My guess is that something like this would be cut on a large bandsaw, but I'm very new to woodworking and am hoping I can try this out with the tools available to me.

Any thoughts on how to cut the block down to the right shape? I can handle carving out the back and cutting out the holes for buttons, etc, but I'm at a loss as to how to get the block shaped correctly first.
    Last edited by Keith Outten; 11-18-2014 at 8:00 AM.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Crumpton View Post
    I'm having trouble figuring out how to cut the slanted parts and bevels. I have access to a few power tools; RAS, table saw, tiny band saw, cheap small planer, a router, a small 40x60cm CNC router, and a bit more. My guess is that something like this would be cut on a large bandsaw, but I'm very new to woodworking and am hoping I can try this out with the tools available to me.

Any thoughts on how to cut the block down to the right shape? I can handle carving out the back and cutting out the holes for buttons, etc, but I'm at a loss as to how to get the block shaped correctly first.