Thread: S & P Mills

S & P Mills

IMG_0119 (Copy).JPG

Here is my latest S & P Mills made with Birdseye maple and walnut for the Celtic knot. These were finished with Waterlox 2 coats and than buffed.

Very nice pair Robert! I like the form on the top, looks like an Onion-dome like you see in Russian and Eastern Europe architecture.

The scale of the knot and its placement work well. Very nice pair, though I would disagree with Tim, I would prefer a rounded top. The point is - how will the customer like them? It is great to experiment with form.
    Retired - when every day is Saturday (unless it's Sunday).

Robert, when doing those celtic knots for that size I was wondering what kind of glue you use? I have made them in pen size and use CA and was wondering if that is strong enough for the larger size like a pepper mill. They are a very nice pair of mills.
    Wally

Thom

I sell about 10 set a year with the same style top, I have been making them for 5 years now, in fact two customers have bought at least 5 set each for wedding gifts. I guess the round top would be easier with the crush grind but these are not that variety. I buy mine at Wood Turners Catalog.

Bob

Wally

I use Titebond II or III. I just match the wood thickness to match the saw blade thickness.

Bob

Those are really sharp! I hope to try some mills soon and these shapes will give me some inspiration of what to shoot for.

Adam
    USMC '97-'01

Very nice! The birdseye looks great!
    Steve

“You never know what you got til it's gone!”
    Please don’t let that happen!
    Become a financial Contributor today!

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Willing View Post
    Thom

I sell about 10 set a year with the same style top, I have been making them for 5 years now, in fact two customers have bought at least 5 set each for wedding gifts. I guess the round top would be easier with the crush grind but these are not that variety. I buy mine at Wood Turners Catalog.

Bob