Thread: New to finishing, have a question

New to finishing, have a question

Hello, I'm a novice woodworker and I'm trying to get better at finishing techniques so please bear with the general question. I'm doing a wood project out of poplar for a friend and he has requested that it look 'like this'. I did tell him that it wouldn't be an exact match as that's almost impossible, but how would you guys approach trying to get poplar to the finish color in the pic?

Thanks in advance

book press.jpg

A dark dye...perhaps with more than one application, sealed with de-waxed shellac and then possibly a gel stain to get the tone darker before final finishing. It will be very hard to get this color level in "one step". And no, you will not get it with an off-the shelf pigment stain from the home center. (Minwax, etc) It takes work to get the full regimen figured out...so as always, work it out on scrap of the same material you'll make the project from. Never experiment on the real project!
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Blog Entries
    Jim Becker nailed it.

Thanks for the reply Jim. I'm used Minwax a few times and never got the results I expected. Can you recommend a good dye to try out?

I've been very favorably impressed with the Rustoleum Ultimate Wood Stain.
    Unlike MinWax, the Rustoleum is very heavily pigmented and can take even a light color like Poplar down to a very deep brown.

Lowes has just recently started to carry this product. I picked some up to stain a piece of Pine trim a dark brown.
    Normally Pine turns out very ugly and blotchy when you try to take it own to a deep shade of color.

I was pleasantly surprised that the Rustoleum product didn't do that.
    "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon