Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which saw for tenons?

Which saw for tenons?

Good evening folks,
    Ive read several posts on this in the archives and Im still struggling a bit to figure this out. Im learning to cut M&T joints by hand. I use my veritas small dovetail saw to cut the cheeks and I get a pretty decent result. But its SLOW for cutting cheeks. That dovetail saw is 14 tpi with a cut depth of about 1 9/16". I have these questions:

1) LV sells a carcass rip saw that has 12 tpi. It has a cutting depth of 2 3/8". Will 2 tpi less make a noticable difference in my cutting speed? Enough to warrant $79 for the saw?

2) LV sells a tenon rip saw with 9 tpi. Id expect that to cut much faster, but will that saw be harder to control? (Im still learning handsaw skills. This saw has a 16" blade with a 4" cutting depth.) This saw is $115.

3) Or at my skill level, should I stick with the dovetail saw (because its very controllable) and just live with the speed for now?

Im not ready to learn saw sharpening yet and so Im thinking a new, moderately priced Veritas is a better path for now than going rust hunting. I dont imagine ever needing more than a couple inches of cut depth - I dont build huge things like entertainment centers or beds.

Id appreciate your thoughts and experienced advise here.

Thanks,
    Fred
    Last edited by Frederick Skelly; 12-10-2014 at 7:19 PM. Reason: clarify
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."

“If you want to know what a man's like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”

I would get the larger tenon saw. Your sawing skills will improve, and you never know what you will make two years from now.