Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Delta Rockwell Wood Lathe (left outside for a year)- should I buy?

Delta Rockwell Wood Lathe (left outside for a year)- should I buy?

Hello!

I am completely new to turning (have used other power tools, band saw, table saw, radial arm saw, etc) and was looking at this one wood lathe
    (same model as the one pictured, but not the real deal). It has been left out in the elements (Denver, CO) for over a year but looks not too rusty. I can post pics if you are interested sometime soon.

Anyway, it has all of the parts besides a safety shield but it is rather rusty. The electronics cabinet looks to be sealed pretty tightly and the motor is underneath the headstock, so they should be in good condition (hopefully). It also comes with about 6 or so turning chisels and maybe a couple live or dead centers if I ask nicely.

Bottom line, they said it would cost $40 and takes 115V. Nothing wrong in my mind with starting a new hobby, and already have built my own 3D printer.

However, I will probably need to get lessons (recommendations?) and I will also need to move it to my home. Will a pallet jack and a flatbed truck be good enough for that? And can I put it in the garage?

Anyway, here is a photo of the exact same model (same keyed on switch), but not the one I am looking at specifically. Let me know if you want pics.

delta-46-612.jpg

Should I get it? Lots of work to clean up the rusty lathe (and maybe a new paint job) but I have the time and patience. What do you think?

Thanks,
    Rob Schwartz

Just found a group of woodturners in Denver... maybe I could get lessons from them http://www.frontrangewoodturners.org/