Thread: New to turning and the forum

New to turning and the forum

First off I'd like to thank you for your tips and techniques that I have enjoyed reading on the forum or seeing on YouTube. I've been turning about 7 months. So, a little about myself:

I am a long time woodworker and a new turner. I've been building cabinets and furniture for over 20 years and have amassed a huge pile of shorts that I just couldn't find a use for and hated to throw away. My wife is a glass artist and she approached me in May and said that she wanted to combine wood and glass together in a collaboration. I thought, "This is perfect... I always wanted a lathe!" Her desire was to make platters that she could inset her glass art in as cheeseboards. So that's how I got started. Bought a Nova 1624 lathe and a Sorby starter set, a few books and a lot of YouTube and Creek lurking and got started.

I have learned mostly by watching on the web and reading some excellent books and articles and feel like I am a solid novice in faceplate turned platters and shallow bowls. Here is some of my work and my wife and my collaborations.

Hard Maple 14" x 3" shallow bowl. As with every piece there are lessons to be learned. This was a challenging test of my gouge skills as the wavy and partially spalted grain showed me how much practice I needed. Perseverance and lots of sharpening won out though and my gouge skill improved a ton on this piece.

IMG_1232.jpg IMG_1233.jpgIMG_1237.jpg

Here are several of the collaborations with my wife. I do the wood and she does the glass....

_D3_6089.jpgIMG_0086 - 2014-11-18 at 10-24-08.jpgIMG_0131 - 2014-11-18 at 10-30-29.jpgIMG_0145 - 2014-11-18 at 10-32-43.jpgIMG_0152 - 2014-11-18 at 10-36-49.jpg

These are all 14-16" in diameter (other than #4 which is 9 inches) and the thickness ranges from 1-2". All were turned from left overs of kiln dried lumber (walnut, maple, and cherry). Sanded from 120-800 grit and finished with Odies Oil.

C&C welcome.

Thanks,