Thread: Jtt Trans-former

Jtt Trans-former

I'm interested in this gated tool as an intermediate step between basic handheld hollowing tools (I have a Sorby Hollowmaster now, not so great for me) and the more elaborate articulated and other boring bar setups for small/medium hollow forms. Any user feedback?

I've had one for a few years now and love it. It will not go as deep as the bigger, articulated tools, but the price point and the support that Tom offers convinced me to go for it. I've not regretted it at all. If you have any specific questions, ask away.
    Grant
    Ottawa ON

Hey guys, I'm always intrigued by hollowing tools but don't know this tools. Can you give the complete name or link to the product. Sorry if it's obvious and I'm just not seeing it. Coffee hasn't kicked in yet.

Scott - just Google JT Turning Tools.
    Steve

“You never know what you got til it's gone!”
    Please don’t let that happen!
    Become a financial Contributor today!

Grant,

I guess I would like to know how much more control you can get with it over a purely hand-held tool, and whether the tool tends to bind between the upper and lower plates under load. Also, do you have a heavier duty captured system to compare it to? I am trying to decide if I should just bite the bullet and get a full-on system, in which case I am leaning toward the JTT Gizmo, although it is pricy compared to others.

I don't own the tool but was curious if you could withdraw it back out of the captive rest. The set screws on the articulated section appear to be thicker than the bar which would require pulling back the banjo, removing the handle, then take the tool out the front. A laser would sure be nice. Grant?

Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Jenness View Post
    Grant,