Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Laguna driftmaster fence

Laguna driftmaster fence

I am considering buying this fence for my Laguna 14SUV bandsaw. Anyone have this fence and have thoughts that may help me make the decision? I am a serious hobbyist and resaw now to a line. I want to up my game and am considering this.

Its super sweet once installed. Easy to adjust to any blade. I love the high low design of teh fence - in fact I want the taller add on for mine. Cons - Not easy to remove. Install is trivial but your 14 might be ready for it.

I added mine to a MM20.

I would not pass on other tool wants for it if you dont have your bases covered as it is a very luxary add on. If you are good like that (already own a router lift for example lol) go for it.
    Glad its my shop I am responsible for - I only have to make me happy.

Blog Entries
    I am in full realization that this is only my opinion and that there are others who feel strongly another way. I have always been able to adjust my saws so that they track true; 10", 12", multiple 14" and 17" saws. This setting holds with blade changes and I change blade sizes with impunity. I would investigate what is causing your tracking problem before I threw money at a cure for the symptoms as opposed to the cause. I should add that I do not run carbide tooth blades and I understand that the tension requirements for these (and bi-metals, etc.) are higher. This may lead to the tracking issues but, this is pure supposition on my part and I apologize in advance if I am talking through my hat .
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

I'm with Glenn, you don't adjust the fence for tracking, you use the tracking adjustent on the saw for that.

I'm not sure where the idea of adjusting the guide ( fence) came from, as now your mitre gauge would be screwed up.

Could you imagine moving the log carriage tracks back and forth in a sawmill everytime you changed the blade?

Regards, Rod.