Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bubinga Desk

Bubinga Desk

I'm going to make a desk for my wives new office. I have purchased a bubinga slab. I am almost finished the the planes for the desk but now I'm worried about the color for the desk wood. Water fall bubinga is so intense that I'm not sure I can make this look good. I was planing on using cherry and curly maple. I would color the maple to be the same as the edges of the bubinga. I'm not sure what to do with the cherry. I am not good with colors. I don't want to waste the money and time for something that looks bad. Does anybody have any ideas. Help!!!!desk model-7.jpgBubinga.jpg

I would not use the maple as it shown in your drawing. That would be too similar to the natural edge top; I don't think that works ....since they are totally different. The top wil look best with an all cherry base.

Hi Bud. That's a beautiful piece of wood. I'll bet it cost you a petty penny. It's going to make a gorgeous desk.

I really don't mind the sharp contrast between the bubinga / cherry and the maple, especially with the light colored bubinga sapwood added to the mix (with a curly pattern of its own).

What I'd do is test. Put a finish in a small section on the back side of the top, where it will eventually be hidden, and do the same with a piece of the the cherry. Look at them together and see if it's a good match or a nice contrast. If not, try to color another scrap of cherry a little bit, finish it and compare again. Remember, the sapwood will be providing a bit of a color barrier between the bubinga and the cherry. If you don't feel you're good with colors, ask your wife's opinion. .. After all, she'll be the one looking at it all the time.

Good luck and post pictures.