Thread: Do I have the right Shapton stones?

Do I have the right Shapton stones?

Bit of a newbie here when it comes to sharpening. I have been getting by with the M.Power PSS system the past few years, but have been wanting step it to the next level. For Christmas I asked for and received the Shapton 2000 and 5000 ceramic stones along with the MKII honing guide. Still have an Amazon gift card to put toward the Shapton 8000. I chose to go the Shapton route after watching the Wood Whisperer and after doing some digging online I felt like I couldn't go wrong with these.
    I just realized that that on the WW Marc went from 1000 to 5000, and that I put the 2000 on my Christmas list instead of the 1000. Now my question to you all is can I go 2000 to 5000 or do I need to start with a coarser stone?
    Also, what would you recommend for flattening the back of my chisels and keeping the Shaptons flat? I looked into the DMT lapping plate but it's not cheap (unless you compare it to the Shapton one). Any recommendations? Worst case I will get the DMT, but by the time I am done I will have about 5x as much invested in my sharpening system than I will have in the actual tools that need to be sharpened.
    I appreciate any recommendations or comments.

Atoma 400 (toolsfromjapan.com is far and away the cheapest), you can get a rubber stand if you want, but you don't need to.

you can start with the 2k. 1K would be better, and if you felt like adding it (IIRC, it's got particles twice as large as the 2k) you could do that from toolsfromjapan for probably $35 or $40.

I used shaptons for several years, and I am somewhat fanatical about sharpening stones (as a point of fascination, not that it matters that much about what types of stones you use), and though I no longer have them, I remember the numbers as follows:

Shapton 1k - about 15 micron abrasive
    2k - about 7
    5k - about 3 micron
    8k about 2
    12k cream - 1.2 (1.23?)
    15k pro (marketed in US) -0.98