Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Nakashima Style Table

First Nakashima Style Table

Well I have been trolling and building for a while now so I thought it was time to post something. I have gotten a lot of interest locally from my Nakashima style Black Walnut book matched dining table so I thought I would share. This is my first time uploasing files hopefully they are the right size.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Well now, what's wrong with that? Beautiful and well beyond my expertise. Bravo!

Bruce
    Epilog TT 35W, 2 LMI SE225CV's
    CorelDraw 4 through 11
    CarveWright
    paper and pencils

That's beautiful! I love the bookmatched top! What monster band saw did you use to resaw that top??

jeasus, I don't think that is something I would look forward to. While I actually could resaw something that large if necessary, thankfully I bought two sequential slabs from the same flitch. We have a 24 inch capacity Zimmerman, it is by far the best bandsaw I have ever used. Thanks for the comments. I can tell you buying two expensive rough milled slabs praying for a good match and an asthetically pleasing look is a bit nerve racking. I'll have to see if I have the pics of what I started with.

Very nice. What is used in the joinery of the base, and how is the top fastened to the base crossmembers so as to deal with wood movement?

The cross members just have extra large pilot holes to allow for movement. There are 4 lag screws coutersunk up through the bottom into the top. In order to keep the top as thick as possible and cut down on work the bottom of the top is not planned/milled flat so I routered out a shallow flat recess for the crossmembers to fit up into.