Thread: Sleeveless sanding drums - good tool?

Sleeveless sanding drums - good tool?

Lee Valley Sleeveless Sanding Drum

Are these any better than the usual drill press style sanding drums?

I like that I can use sheet abrasives - the typical drum kits have always been less than satisfactory.

Can anyone give a good review? Any restrictions/qualifiers?

Thanks for any and all comments.
    Last edited by Chris Padilla; 02-17-2015 at 5:26 PM. Reason: Fixed Link
    "... for when we become in heart completely poor, we at once are the treasurers & disbursers of enormous riches."
    WQJudge

Those look pretty nice but I have no experience, Sam. LV is always good for returns if you don't like 'em.
    Wood: a fickle medium....

Did you know SMC is user supported? Please help.

I tried these. Good point - Not nearly as difficult to get the paper off as the ones I bought that used sleeves. (ridiculously tight) Bad point, I found it hard to get the paper on nice and tight.

I know have a Ridgid edge/spindle sander, and I use the smaller sleeves on it. They slide on and off quite a bit easier. Although they are much shorter than the Ridgid drum, they are long enough for most jobs.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Chalmers View Post
    I tried these. Good point - Not nearly as difficult to get the paper off as the ones I bought that used sleeves. (ridiculously tight) Bad point, I found it hard to get the paper on nice and tight.

I know have a Ridgid edge/spindle sander, and I use the smaller sleeves on it. They slide on and off quite a bit easier. Although they are much shorter than the Ridgid drum, they are long enough for most jobs.
    I've been struggling with the idea of the need for a spindle sander but do such work so rarely that a better drill press drum sander seems adequate. I've just hated any of the ones I have used. Good point Chris that LV would accept a return but still...

As for the point of getting the paper tight on the drum - look what I found -