Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hobby Woodworking Shop - Casualty Insurance?

Hobby Woodworking Shop - Casualty Insurance?

The recent thread about the cost of the tools in your shop got me to thinking about whether my homeowner's insurance policy adequately covers all the "stuff" that's out in my wood shop. I'm just a hobbyist - I don't sell anything (yet), so I'm not talking about liability insurance or any kind of business insurance that the professionals here have - but given that I've got a 40x40 building that cost $30k to build and upwards of $20k in tools inside (don't tell my wife), should I be concerned that my homeowner's insurance policy won't cover me adequately in case of a fire or theft? At present, I only have the "vanilla" homeowners policy that I had before I started down the woodworking rabbit hole...

Are there special riders or additional policy endorsements that I should be looking into? Given the specialty nature of the tools and equipment, how would you ever justify the amount of a claim in case of a total loss?

I suppose a call to my agent would answer a lot of these questions, but I hate calling a guy who sells widgets and asking him whether I need to buy more widgets... I'd much rather have a good idea what I do and don't need before I pick up the phone...

Marty
    I asked my home-owners ins agent this question in Nov of 2014. (I have checked with him 3 times over the past 3 years.)
    The question was "As a hobbiest that ocassionally sells woodwork, will my insurance cover my shop and my tools?"
    His reply : It will cover the structure and the tools, it will not cover inventory contained within. (Inventory being anything made to sell such as bowls, etc) and wood use to make them. This is in Louisiana, I do not know about other states. My insurance agent has always been helpful and honest with me. I would ask my agent any questions like this as it may vary from one company to another.
    Russell