Thread: Woodworking Shows

Woodworking Shows

As a hobby woodworker, I was thinking of attending a wood working show to get a better look at some of the sliding table saws and larger band saws that I can't view locally. Can anyone make a suggestion on what may be the better show to attend for someone like myself? I was all set to go to the AWFS this year in July but now I'm wondering if the IWF would be a better fit for myself. I'm not sure on this as I've never attended one of these shows before. I would appreciate any advice form people who have attended both.

thanks,
    john

It's depends upon which city you want to go to both shows are pretty much the same it's pretty much a big boys playground I much prefer the show Atlanta there is just about everything there
    Thanks John
    Don't take life too seriously. No one gets out alive anyway!

The two shows alternate every year and this year it's AWFS in Las Vegas, next year it's IWF in Atlanta.
    War Eagle!

What they've already said. For all intents and purposes, from the hobbyist perspective, they're interchangeable. Go to whichever is closer/sooner. They are, as far as I know, the only shows that the big European companies show. I know that Hammer and Minimax have been at some of the true hobbyist shows, but don't think they've done it for quite some time.
    It came to pass...
    "Curiosity is the ultimate power tool." - Roy Underhill
    The road IS the destination.

This topic surfaces from time-to-time and the general feeling of those who attend those is that they are NOT hobby friendly. Hopefully Erik will chime in on this topic. Here is the link from last year when that question was posed:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...13038-Iwf-2014
    Last edited by Rich Riddle; 02-28-2015 at 2:36 AM.