Thread: Lathe Chuck advice

Lathe Chuck advice

I am still a novice at "trying" to turn bowls. My lathe is a PM 90. I have a Barracuda 2 chuck. In a different post the Nova was favored over the Barracuda. My question is if the Nova or other chucks are much better than the Barracuda? What is the difference?

Edit: While I am here I haven't been able to get the hang of using a bowl gouge. Should I look at carbide or just keep plugging away trying to learn how to use the bowl gouge. I am joining a turners club today.

Thanks
    Last edited by William C Rogers; 03-08-2015 at 8:00 AM.
    When working I had more money than time. In retirement I have more time than money. Love the time, miss the money.

I can't compare the two as I have only Nova chucks. IMO, the jaw design is as important as any factor in choosing a chuck brand. I would encourage you to research that considering the type of work you want to do. And, stick with the gouge until you master it! You will be glad you did.

Highly recommend finding a turning club. You'll see, hear and learn a lot from a group who are very willing to share their knowledge.
    Member Illiana Woodturners

When I was just starting out learning to use the bowl gouge on my own I found Bill Grumbine's video "Turned Bowls Made Easy" very informative on the ways to use a bowl gouge.
    Sparky Paessler

My guess is that one week after joining the club you reference, if you simply ask, you will know about 1000% more about your gouge than you did when you wrote your post. Also, for what it is worth, any number of the good teachers, Bill Grumbine among them, make videos. If you can view the video in your shop, watch the expert, stop the video, try it, fail, watch it again, and so forth.

Search you tube. Many great vids. May I sugget "bobham5" or "Wyoming woodturner"
    in addition to the sbove.