Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mortise and tenon question

Mortise and tenon question

I'm planning a workbench using mortise and tenon joinery on the base. I'm pretty new to woodworking, so this is a learning process. I'm planning on starting with Douglas fir 4x4's and I'm trying to figure out the size of the mortises and tenons. A few Google searches have yielded some general rules. So, let's say I've milled the lumber to 3x3. Following a rule that tenons should be 1/3 the thickness of the mortised piece, the tenon should be 1 inch thick. A similar rule (2/3 the thickness of the mortised piece) leads to a 2 inch long tenon. But a rule from the same source indicated a width of the tenon should be 5 times the thickness, which would be 5 inches. Obviously, that's impossible with 3x3 stock. So, how wide should the tenon be? Should it just be the entire width of the stock? And as long as I'm asking, should I use blind or through tenons? If it makes a difference, I'll probably use dowels through the tenons.

As I said, I'm new to this, so feel free to correct my assumptions above if you think they aren't the way to go.

Cheers.

You are overdriving your headlights, Tom my friend. Simply put - it is not a decimal-precision issue.

The 1/3 thickness is a solid rule. Sometimes you can't - for various reasons - but generally you can. Won't go wrong.

For depth, go maybe 1/2 to 2/3 of the stile/leg. You will not have any issues. Especially if you pin them with dowels. So - 1" x 2" will be great. You will never have a problem. You don't mention the height - the 3d dimension - I will guess that the stretchers will be 3"+ in height, so make the tenon height 1/2" less than whatever that dimension is.

The wider, longer, and taller you go, the more strength and glue surface area you get. Bit - reality has to check in to the plan every so often - so, be real about it. You will be just fine.
    Last edited by Kent A Bathurst; 03-19-2015 at 11:23 PM.