Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Curly Maple planing questions

Curly Maple planing questions

So I just ordered some curly maple from Bell Forest and I need to sort myself as far as plaining goes when it arrives for the plaque I have in mind for a retiring Marine. I have a LN #4 wit a 45 degree frog(no back bevel) and I have a 62 1/2 low angle jack( Lie-Nielsen) with the regular 25 degree blade. Obviously I need a high angle for such figured maple. The question is, how should I attack this lumber? Should I get a new blade for the jack plane? Maybe a high angle frog for the #4? what would you guys recommend?

The 4 will do it. The iron needs to be REally sharp, and the cap iron Very close to the cutting edge with the end angle changed more vertically to almost stop the shaving. Mouth not as tight as you might think. You don't want the shavings to be long curls like you normally like off a smoothing plane. Shavings around one thou or less. I keep a Record 4-1/2 set up to do this. It takes some playing with it to get one to work, but once you do, it works like a charm.

Buying a second blade would certainly be the easiest thing to do. I've got a 50 deg blade for my LV smoother and it does a great job. No tearout at all.

Tom, when you say more vertically, do you mean more perpendicular to the plane of the sole or the plane of the blade?

Quote Originally Posted by Don Shirey View Post
    Tom, when you say more vertically, do you mean more perpendicular to the plane of the sole or the plane of the blade?
    Not Tom of course, but I'll chime in. My favorite line on this is what Charles Holtzapplfel said over 160 years ago: the chipbreaker should present a "nearly perpendicular wall" for the shaving to ascend. So, if the iron is bedded at 45°, and the chipbreaker has about a 45° bevel (this can be a very small microbevel), you get 90°. The chipbreaker bevel can certainly be steeper than 45°, up to about 80°, but I find 45° or a just a little bit more to work well.