Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Home Depot Workers make me shake my head

Home Depot Workers make me shake my head

Today, I put together my new band saw. It was wired for 220v and didn't come with a cord or plug. So off to Home Depot I go. I buy 10/3 wire and a plug and head back home. I wire the saw up and after finishing putting everything together, I want to fire up the saw to test it out. The plug I bought wouldn't fit into the plug in the wall. I mistakenly bought a 20A plug and the wall outlet has a 30A receptacle. So back to Home Depot I go. Of course, I can't find the right plug so a worker about 65 years old asks if he can help. I explain what I need and he starts asking me questions about what I need the plug for. I tell him its for my band saw. He asks how many amps does the saw use and I tell him its wired for 220v and the motor pulls 10 amps. He says, I'm no electrician but you can't do that. You'll trip the breaker or worse, burn up your motor. I look at him puzzled and then I said, with your way of thinking, if I have a 20 amp receptacle in my house and I plug a lamp into it rated for less than 1 amp, I'll trip the breaker or burn up my lamp? The saw motor only uses 10 amps. I have 30 amps available but I won't be using 30 amps of power. He says, well here's the right plug but just be careful. You don't want to start a fire. I took the plug and left. When I got home, I wired it up and the saw works fine.

so a worker about 65 years old asks if he can help.
    Wow I've never not had to go on safari to track one down and he approached you?

Rob, did the guy have full facial hair? Sounds like with little TV work now .....Smokey Bear might have a part time job.

I get the same thing from the people at my local Lowe's. I don't like going there unless I don't have an option, but it's funny to hear their logic when I know what I'm talking about.

Quote Originally Posted by David B Thornton View Post