Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anger, has applications to WW

Anger, has applications to WW

I am studying anger as it applies to relationships. Everyone gets angry. Lets say you are ripping on the TS and a piece kicks back; a normal person reacts with some fear and then anger; fear is an emotion that drives anger. In this situation most people are angry at themselves. Lets say you just finished turning a walnut burl bowl and a friend came into the shop and saw it. He or she picks it up to look at it and accidentally drops it on the cement floor and it breaks into smithereens. Most people would get angry at their friend.

If you have found good methods of controlling anger and reacting to it, I would be very interested in hearing them.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] "You don't have to give birth to someone to have a family." (Sandra Bullock)

I don't get angry. I get even.

Seriously though, I had a kickback. Didn't get angry. Just didn't do what I did again.
    Last edited by Myk Rian; 04-03-2015 at 3:48 PM.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night

Some good not new advice... a) walk away from the source if possible. distance between anger object and self. b) take 5 to 10 deep breaths (from the abdomen not chest breathing), slows down the heart rate and lowers the adrenaline and then there's c) go ahead throw something you'll feel better!

Blog Entries
    If you have found good methods of controlling anger and reacting to it, I would be very interested in hearing them.
    +1 on this!

After almost 60 years of living in the San Francisco area we moved to a more rural area. We are now about 10 miles from the nearest traffic signal. A little further to the nearest store.

It has helped me to be much more calm.

jtk
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

Simply walk away from the situation. Come back later.