Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can I Gel Stain over Regular Stain?

Can I Gel Stain over Regular Stain?

I just finished making a jewelry box out of hard maple.I used Minwax Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner per can directions to minimize/avoid(?) blotching. I then used Minwax Cherry oil stain per directions, wiping the excess off & letting it dry4-6 hours (per can directions) before applying the next coat of stain. I applied three coats, yet there was some blotching & the stain really didn't come out as dark as I wanted. I have not applied the Minwax Polycrylic coat yet.

So, I'm wondering if I could use a gel stain, or a dye, on top of the existing stain to cover the blotching & darken the color. Keeping in mind that I'm a beginner at staining, i.e., this is my very first staining project, so 've much to learn. I do have Bob Flexner's book "Wood Finishing 101", which is very helpful, but I'm hoping you experts can weigh in with your opinions.

Thanks for your comments.

Looks like I may have found an answer to my question.
    http://www.woodcraft.com/articles/ar...eid=764&page=1

Al, for future reference, hard and close grained woods like maple are best colored using dyes, rather than pigment-based stains like the Minwax products. And yes, the gel stain could be helpful to you since it's designed to "stay on top", for the most part. Do you have some project scraps to test on? Never attempt to color a project without first testing your intended finishing regimen on scrap first.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Becker View Post