Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cold bluing followed by baked flax seed oil finish for Gramercy saw vise. WORKS!!!

Blog Entries

Cold bluing followed by baked flax seed oil finish for Gramercy saw vise. WORKS!!!

The finish worked beautifully and came out nice dark black with a semi-gloss finish. First a disclaimer: This was an experiment and I am not an expert, but here is how I did it. Proceed at your own risk.

Materials needed:

2 oz. bottle Brownell's "Formula 44/40 instant gun blue
    Degreasing agent- I used a citrus degreaser
    Lacquer thinner or acetone- either will work. I used lacquer thinner.
    Distilled water- about 4 gallons.
    Flax Seed Oil- only a small bottle needed.
    Gloves
    Cotton balls
    Stove that can hit 500 degrees F. (Most can)
    Paintbrush
    Paper towels or rags
    Lots of patience
    Grease (for reassembly)

To start:
    The parts must be thoroughly cleaned. The vise comes covered in protective oil and is greased at the joints. All this has to come off. DO NOT SKIMP ON THIS PART!!! Clean thoroughly. First I took the thing apart. This requires a 4mm allen wrench and two appropriately sized wrenches. Sorry- can't remember what size the bolts were. The thing comes apart quite easily. Next, I sprayed them with a citrus cleaner to cut the grease, and then cleaned thoroughly with soapy water. DO NOT use tap water- it will cause rust even in a few minutes, especially if you have iron pipes in your town. Use distilled water. Next, use lacquer thinner or acetone to clean the parts again, and then wash them again with soapy distilled water. They must be thoroughly cleaned. Now IMMEDIATELY take them to the oven and back at greater than 200F to dry them.