Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which cabinet saw should I keep? Pics

Which cabinet saw should I keep? Pics

I'm new to woodworking and recently purchased a Delta cabinet saw. Shortly afterwards I came across another cabinet saw made by Jet that I couldn't resist buying. My dilemma is which one should I keep? The Delta is a Platinum Edition with a Biesemeyer fence. The Jet is a Model #JTAS-10-1 with an Xacta fence. Both have a 3hp, single phase motor, extension table and are right tilt. Other than color and badging they look about the same. The fit and finish of the Jet seems a little better by my novice eyes. The Jet fence and extension table came in the original boxes and were never used. Here are pics of the two saws.
    Cabinet Saws 002.jpg

Cabinet Saws 001.jpg

New England, in a town on the way to nowhere
    Keep the USA made Delta; although the company itself has gone down the tubes recently, the Unisaw is the better machine.

Yeah keep the uni
    Only one life will soon be past
    Only whats done for Christ will last

The Delta Unisaw

Easy. USA iron over Chinese? Keep the delta. It likely has a far better built motor if nothing else. Swap fences if you want.

If your looking for an easy sale then that would be the Uni,lots of people wants them.Jet,well that may take longer to sell.But,if I had both and wanted the best for myself then like others that would be the Uni,heck the fence by its self cost ya around 400.But I'm sure there's a Jet fan someplace,good luck with your decision.Both looks good,I can see why you jump on them----Carroll

Likely the Uni although I'm not sure they were all USA at that point but resale is better. Check condition and measure runout and check the tables and motor. Condition trumps model for that comparison. Dave

Keep both, use jet as the outfeed table and for dado blades I'm only half kidding.

Sell 'em both and get a Grizzly
    Scott Vroom