Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How is this cut made?

How is this cut made?

So I was just looking at this website, and came across these really cool, single piece wood wallets. But since I'm a total newbie to woodworking, I'm not sure how the artist made the deep groove cut where the cards and such go.

http://www.slimtimber.com/products/maple-wood-wallet

I assume it's a router, or a CNC, but since it's such a deep cut I wasn't sure. And if it is a router, what kind of bit do you think is used?

If anyone can enlighten me, I'd really appreciate it!
    Epilog Helix 24 - 50w
    Kern HSE 50x100 - 400w (rated at 479w!)

Quote Originally Posted by Jay Selway View Post
    So I was just looking at this website, and came across these really cool, single piece wood wallets. But since I'm a total newbie to woodworking, I'm not sure how the artist made the deep groove cut where the cards and such go.

http://www.slimtimber.com/products/maple-wood-wallet

I assume it's a router, or a CNC, but since it's such a deep cut I wasn't sure. And if it is a router, what kind of bit do you think is used?

If anyone can enlighten me, I'd really appreciate it!
    I don't know how it's done.

I'm not sure how practical a wood wallet is for guys that carry wallets in their hip pocket....ouch.
    Scott Vroom

I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.

Thanks
    Epilog Helix 24 - 50w

If I had to build one, I'd either start with a pattern and bearing guided router bits, taking small passes and working my way down, or use my hollow chisel mortiser, or use a series of overlapping forstner bit holes using a drill press, or drill it out with my Festool Domino....lots of ways to skin a cat.

If I had to build one, I'd wait until the feeling passed.

I'd love to see the statistics on how many people who bought one were still using it 3 months later.