Thread: Two wheeled steady rest? Steve Schlumpf...

Two wheeled steady rest? Steve Schlumpf...

I need to make a steady rest for hollow forms, vases, etc. I recall seeing a post by Steve Schlumpf a few years ago in which he showed a steady rest with only two wheels at about 4 and 8 o'clock position. A few years before that he had built a 4 wheel rest. but seemed to imply that, at least at that time (2012), that he thought only two were sufficient. All of the other posts I searched involve three or four wheels. I"m curious to hear if Steve's still favors the two wheel rest, or if anyone else has gone this route. Here is the post that shows the two wheeler. I've done a search, and have found no further references to similar rests. Maple Rough Out. Thanks for your input.

Dan
    Eternity is an awfully long time, especially toward the end.

-Woody Allen-

Critiques on works posted are always welcome

I've been using a oneway now for 10+ years and do vases mostly, up to 20" with no problems. A vibration by definition goes both ways from the center of rotation and if you stop just oneway it is dead. I'm lazy and have bad knees and leave the oneway on the ways against the headstock which saves much time. I also leave my controlled boring bar set up for instant use. Due to the knees I resent any tool I cannot reach from the lathe.

I built a four wheel steady rest after Jeff Nicols design. The top was getting in the way of my laser. I cut it at the halfway point and have been using the two bottom wheels for three years now. Never have a problem just using two.

I think that there are two separate issues.

The first is that their should be support on the other side of the wood from where you are cutting. One wheel placed on center directly in front would block direct pressure pressure from the cutting tool. Three or four equidistant points block any deformation of the piece. The OneWay bowl steady responds tothis issue.