Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Source of Tools for Non-Profit

Source of Tools for Non-Profit

I've been volunteering with Habitat For Humanity for the past 5 years. Our tools are homeowner quality at best and starting to wear out and and even become unsafe in some cases. I've called and/or emailed many of the big name tool manufacturers (Festool, Ridgid, Dewalt, Makita, etc) and generally found that they are most interested in providing tools gratis to entertainers and athletes.
    Has anyone had any luck getting power tools donated or sold at a discount for a non-profit?

Have you tried local stores (non big box is probably your best bet) that sell tools? It could be good advertising if you work something out with them (hang a banner, t-shirts, etc).
    Last edited by Matt Day; 06-22-2015 at 7:28 AM.

Ken,

Take this from someone who has made thousands of phone calls requesting help over the last ten years. The big companies rarely are interested in helping mostly because you cannot connect to the decision makers. The small companies haven't had the profit margins for a very long time to be able to help. Once in a blue moon you will get lucky. You might have noticed that we rarely ever have a FreeStuff drawing here anymore, years ago we were pretty successful attracting companies who were willing to sponsor drawings.

The Freedom Pens Project is another effort I have been involved in for a decade and over the years donations from companies have dwindled to the point we can't provide pen kits and we have to stretch the funds to just pay shipping costs. Even the support of our Troops is a tough sell these days. Its not a dismal situation trying to fund a good cause but it is very difficult.

Quote Originally Posted by Ken Krawford View Post