Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shaker door shaper cutters

Shaker door shaper cutters

I need to make cabinet doors and 5 panel drawer fronts for our kitchen remodel. I've never used a shaper before and I'm looking at shaper cutter options.

My wife wants a "shaker" door with the beveled edge. It looks like there are three or four options that I've found so far.

MLCS has a stacked shaper cutter for about $80
    MLCS has a two piece shaper cutter set for about $180
    Infinity has a two piece shaper cutter set for about $200
    Freeborn has a 6 piece cutter set for somewhere around $400 or maybe a little less.

Since I only need this to make one kitchen's worth of doors/drawers I'm assuming longevity won't be an issue with any of the options. But, is one option easier to set-up and use than the other? I kind of like the Freeborn set even though it costs more because there is an option to cut tongue and groove rail and stiles and that is something I might do more in the future. Plus, if I need to sell the set later I'm guessing the freeborn will have the best resale.

are there other things I'm not thinking of as a new shaper user?

thanks, Mike

If you are just needing one set your best bet would be to have them built.

If you're only making one set of doors, I'd go with the Infinity brazed ones. Always been pretty pleased with the quality of their tooling.

are there other things I'm not thinking of as a new shaper user?
    Get a stock feeder if you haven't already.

I've got a Freeborn shaker insert head set I'd like to sell. But, I want to sell all of my heads at once. I've got shaker, ogee, and quarter round sets. Three sticking, three cope heads.

Mike: