Thread: Keep my 6" jointer? Or not?

Keep my 6" jointer? Or not?

I just got a used 16" jointer that works great. I have a Craftsman 6" jointer that I used for years. Do I keep it to use, or is it a waste of space?

I woodwork for a living and I rent a workshop so I have room, but if I kept everything that might be useful some day I'd be snowed under.

Are there any uses for the 6" jointer, or should the 16" be able to do it all? I don't make jewelry boxes or anything small. Tables, cabinet face frames, chairs - that's the size of thing I make. Whadduya think?

I wish I had this problem! If you are doing face frames and similar width pieces on the 16", then I would sell or donate to a woodworking club or a school.

If the 16" is up and running, than the 6" is redundant. Personally, I'd free up the space and get rid of the 6".
    "The first thing you need to know, will likely be the last thing you learn." (Unknown)

I just came into a similar situation when I found a 12" jointer, so far I've kept my vintage 6" Delta. So far I've mostly run my edge work through the smaller jointer thinking that I'd keep the blades on the larger more crispy sharp for flat work which tends to be more critical. The smaller unit is light enough I can move it around pretty easily so it's not really a space issue. Also I thought I'd keep it around for a bit till I'm more sure about my larger jointer, there may be some things I want to do restoration wise or possibly upgrade the cutter head. So I'll keep the smaller for a while longer and see how it goes, it may get traded off someday.

David

It's not like you can set the machines up with different bits or blades like routers or saws. I can't think of anything the 6" could do that the 16" couldn't.

If you're doing a lot of really rough boards, then maybe you could keep the 6" as a beater jointer just to save your blades on the 16"?

If it were me, I'd sell it.