Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on the NEW Stanley 750 chisels

Opinions on the NEW Stanley 750 chisels

I have a credit that I can use with Amazon and I've been considering spending it on a set of the new Stanley "sweetheart" 750 socket chisels. I realize that these are not the same quality as LN. I've been happily using Maprles blue chips for some time. If money were no object, I'd buy the LN. As a hobby woodworker, I doubt I will see any practical difference. But in this case, I'd be buying a set just because I'd enjoy the look and feel.

The credit is specific to Amazon and so I'm limited to their offerings, so AI chisels or 1/2 set of LN is not an option. It's probably the 750s or nothing.

I like the handle shape. Without actually using one I think the shape of the handles would fit my hand well. Being slightly more bulbous than the LN, I think they may be a better fit. I can't really gauge the weight an balance. They are lighter and slight thinner that the LN but I'm not sure how that compares to chisels I've actually used.

From what I could dig up, the common report is that they come reasonably flat often with a slight concave face. So setup will be more than LN but probably far less than I'm accustomed to.

I'll be using them as standard bench chisels to chop dovetails, pare shoulders and even chop mortises, etc; a general purpose workhorse set.

I'd be really interested to hear from anyone who's used these.
    -- Dan Rode

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle

Dan,

I have the new 750's and use them often. There are many different makes of chisels, mostly O-1 or Japanese, in my racks. When I need to do a rough job like chopping waste they are my go to chisel. If I'm showing someone how to use a chisel same story. The 750s have a good feel and are near indestructible. Not often I can say this about new Stanley tools but the chisels are a good value.

ken