Thread: Calculating Text Area for Gold Leaf application

Calculating Text Area for Gold Leaf application

HI all,
    Is there a method of calculating text area in V Carve Pro or another program to help me generate a quote for applying gold leaf in the V Carved text?
    Any other ideas? I’ve never done gold leaf before, this is a whole new learning curve on an outdoor oak sign with 5” lettering.
    Thanks in advance for any advice.
    Kind regards,
    John
    60w EFI 6090 & 100w Z4 Reci 6090 G Weike Lasers, 4 X 4 CNC Router
    CLTT using Oki C822dn & Adkins Press
    Glass Sandblasting, Woodwork Shop, etc...
    V Carve Pro v8 & Photo V Carve, Lasercut 5.3, Corel Draw 2017 on Windows 7 and iMac (via Parallels), etc

HI all,
    In case anyone else ever has a similar need: I copy (below) this help from Charlie at Vectric:

If you use the Measure tool in the Drawing menu and set it to Span / Contour Properties you can click on each letter and it will give the Area² of that letter.
    It only works with one letter at a time though, and for any letters with an internal shape (such as a,e and o) you need to minus the internal Area from the surrounding area.

Kind regards, John

PS: I find Vectric a great company, on the rare occasion I have had reason to contact them, they have been personal, friendly and resolved the issue, unlike some other software suppliers.
    Last edited by John Bion; 08-05-2015 at 1:52 PM. Reason: Added a PS
    V Carve Pro v8 & Photo V Carve, Lasercut 5.3, Corel Draw 2017 on Windows 7 and iMac (via Parallels), etc

John, I saw this when you posted it and meant to come back and reply. If you've never done gold leafing before, you're in for a treat Let's just say that there's no need at all to calculate exact sizes. You'll probably need far more than you think you will

Handling gold leaf is an art.
    Lasers : Trotec Speedy 300 75W, Trotec Speedy 300 80W, Galvo Fiber Laser 20W