Thread: Bench Vise Mounting -- Recommendations?

Bench Vise Mounting -- Recommendations?

Hi All,

I'm new to the forum, and woodworking, for that matter. I've been a builder of things for as long as I can remember, but it's only been recently that woodworking has taken root. I've been slowly collecting tools for maybe a year now, and I've got a very, very long way to go. I've build my current workbench in stages, and have finally gotten around to replacing a couple layers of MDF with something a bit more substantial. Pictured is one of two ~3" DF slabs that i'll be putting together. I'm intrigued by split top benches, so i'll be leaving a gap between this 15" slab, and the remaining narrower slab. I ripped down 2x10's, prepped my stock, and flattened (relatively) with my sole handplane -- a meager No.4 that was passed down to me by a grandfather. Because i'm working this way, and lack enough clamping force >24", i believe working in 2 slabs will be much easier for me to complete.

As the top is taking shape, i'm a bit conflicted on how to mount the vise that I dug up on craigslist -- an older 10" Craftsman quick-release behemoth:

1. I can simply drive lab bolts from the bottom, however the rear jaw will then protrude from the front of the bench, and i'm not sure how i feel about that. Additionally, the mounting locations are ~1-1/2" from the rear jaw, which puts the lag screw directly through a glue line in the top. This *should not* be an issue, but i'd be lying if said i didn't find it less than ideal.
    2. I can recess the rear jaw into the front of the bench, and either build up the rear jaw from there, or add a full length "apron" so that the rear jaw is flush with the benchtop front.