Thread: Several bandsaw blade questions

Several bandsaw blade questions

I am a bandsaw newbie and need some advice on bandsaw blades.

I just went through my first Lenox Dimaster bimetal blade. It cut great and seamed to do well with the logs I needed to cut. I planned to sharpen the blade to get more life out of it but it ended up getting bent and I didn't want to put it back on the saw.

Now I need to get another one.

95% of the time I use the saw to cut small logs down into different stock. The wood that I spend 99.99% of my time cutting is Texas ebony which is similar to the Ironwoods. It is very dense and hard. I am also cutting the logs when green and most are already halved into 6 inch at most thick pieces.

I am debating which blades to try next. The Lenox was around 55.00 shipped to me. I know that the Woodturner Blade from Highland was much cheaper than that.

Maybe you guys can steer me to my next purchase of a blade.

Here are my requirements:

1: Must handle green wood
    2. 3 TPI or less
    3. Would like the option to resharpen so my wife doesn't kill me.
    4. Prefer something that will stand up to heavy duty wood.

Any suggestions?

I did like the Lenox blade and heard that it will stand up to many resharpens. Where is the cheapest place to get them?

I' ve found that green Texas Ebony cuts easier than when it's dry. Dry, it's so hard it sometimes sparks. It's a difficult and nasty wood with beauty being it's only redeeming feature.

The Diemaster is as good a blade as I've used on it but I've never heard that they can be resharpened. You might use something easier to cut-like Mesquite 8-).

I get them from Oregon Industrial. I do not know where to get them sharpened. Just bought 2 because they are better than any other blade I have tried.
    Veni Vidi Vendi Vente! I came, I saw, I bought a large coffee!