Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Add on electric height adjuster for jointer/planer combo?

Add on electric height adjuster for jointer/planer combo?

I've been using a Minimax FS41 Elite 16" jointer/planer for a few months. I love the machine, it works beautifully and has become the center piece of my shop. But...

I frequently switch back and forth between jointing and planing, and the routine of bending down to turn a hand wheel to raise or lower the bed by 6" each time is getting very old...

I'd like advice/info/photos etc. re how to build an electric motor powered lift mechanism that I can attach to the machine. I can remove the hand wheel, replace it with a pulley, connect that to a motor. What I need help with is how to build this so 1) the motor is reversible, such that a switch located on the top of the machine can be used to raise or to lower, i.e., the motor must turn in either direction; 2) where to find a motor with very low rpm, or what pulley ratios do I need so that the rpm on the j/p shaft is slow enough not to cause damage(I'm thinking very small pulley on the motor, larger pulley on the machine shaft, to allow for very small adjustments); 3) is there a mechanical clutch/pulley that can be adjusted so that the clutch will just slip at the end of the bed travel, to avoid accidental damage; and 4) any suggestions on how to mount this to the machine cabinet rather than have it sit on the floor.

I recall seeing some posts from others who have done this (not limited to Minimax, would apply to any j/p combo with a hand wheel).

Or if such a thing exists that I can just buy, that might work too.

Thanks folks!

Len

West Central Alberta, East of the Rockies - West of the Rest