Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginner turner becoming frustrated by bowls

Beginner turner becoming frustrated by bowls

Hey everyone, I'm new to turning and am having some trouble with bowls. I use a Oneway Talon chuck with the wormscrew to rough out the blank then continue to turn the outside of the bowl and create a recess on the bottom. I then turn the bowl around and expand the jaws into the bottom recess so as to hollow the inside and finish the bowl. However, I continue to have the bowl come off the chuck when hollowing the inside. The recess on the bottom cracks and the bowl comes a flyin'. Am I making the recess to shallow or maybe too close to "perimeter/outside" of the bottom? Am I over-tightening the jaws in the recess? I also have a set of Super Jaws so I could use those as well. I am currently turning small bowls (6"x6"x3") on a Rikon mini lathe. Any tips, advice, and suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I am quickly falling in love with this woodworking rabbit hole.

Thank you,
    Matt Krusen

have you tried a tenon instead of a recess? typically it is easier to grip a tenon than expand into a recess.

what jaws are you using? If dovetailed jaws - your tenon (or recess) should be shaped to accept the dovetail.

are you checking your chuck frequently to make sure it is not loosening?

I would try using a tenon also so you can clamp down on the piece. I've never felt comfortable using the recess method for the reasons you are experiencing. It's also pretty easy to clean up the bottom when finished.
    Mark Patoka
    Stafford, VA