Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finishing off the lathe - Feeling overwhelmed

Question Finishing off the lathe - Feeling overwhelmed

A little background: I've only been turning now for about a year, though I've been doing woodworking since I was a teen. So I've got some experience in finishing, though I'd never say it was my strongest suit. And a confession, I'm also lazy when it comes to sanding/finishing. So I find great appeal in being able to sand and finish directly on the lathe, where the machine is doing alot of the work. And I've been very happy with the results when doing that! I've tried all of the following with pretty good results:
    • mineral oil & beeswax
    • General's WTF
    • Mylands friction polish
    • and my favorite, EEE UltraShine followed by Shellawax cream (though it's pretty shiny).

These are all pretty straightforward and don't require multiple steps of different treatments. Here's an example of the EEE/Shellawax finish that I was pleased with:
    20150905_164833.jpg

However, some projects just don't lend themselves to being finished on the lathe, and that's where I seem to be running into trouble. It seems like A.) there's much more work involved, and B.) the results aren't as good. One bowl was maple and I finished it simply with walnut oil. That one took on a bit of a yellow hue, and it seemed to not take evenly. Another one was walnut. I finished this one with amber shellac, but it's looking quite blotchy (it also looks a little cloudy at the moment, as it's been sanded for another coat)...
    20150923_183822.jpg