Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: resaw band questions for Centauro 600

resaw band questions for Centauro 600

I've narrowed the choices down to a Lenox Trimaster, but the max blade thickness I see in metric specs online doesn't make sense to me. Will it tension the 1-1/4" .042 blade, or will the 1" .035 be better, or neither.......... All I can find is max blade width 35mm.
    Last edited by Tom M King; 09-27-2015 at 7:02 PM.

I've no directly comparative experience Tom, but others no doubt will. I have a Woodmaster on an Agazzani NRA. One consideration may be which model Centauro 600 you have. (i looked at the models a couple of years back) There's a CO600 which is a heavier machine with more tensioning capability than the SP600 - they are rated for 35 and 30mm maximum width blades respectively. Many makers seem to suggest a maximum width a bit larger than is ideal for resawing.

Again no hands on comparison to report, but reading between the lines of what people write on the topic it seems like the coarser Woodmaster may be a freer and faster cutting blade than the Trimaster - but that the latter delivers a better finish. I'm wary (based on bad experience) of getting caught with too small tooth gullets on deeper cuts.

Can't really advise on band thickness and width, other than that my personal instinct (which could easily be mistaken) is to go for the thinnest and narrowest band capable of comfortably accepting the max tension/max PSI stress in the blade your saw can apply - on the basis that most of the rigidity and straightness comes from the tension, while going thicker and wider than is ideal for the available tension may open the way to potentially problematical minor misalignments. Which is where experience needs to come in.....
    Last edited by ian maybury; 09-27-2015 at 9:28 PM.

It's an older CO600. Thanks for your input Ian.